Spare parts direct store - http://spare-parts-direct.com

Building a body robot - Body





Building a body robot - Bookshelf


480 pages

Intermediate Robot Building

Creator: David Cook | Computers - 2010-05-28

In this book, you’ll learn the value of a robot heartbeat and the purpose of the wavy lines in photocells. You’ll find out what electronic part you should sand.

Publisher: Apress

About this book
For readers of Robot Building for Beginner (Apress, 2002 and 2009), welcome to the next level. Intermediate Robot Building, Second Edition offers you the kind of real-world knowledge that only renowned author David Cook can offer. In this book, you’ll learn the value of a robot heartbeat and the purpose of the wavy lines in photocells. You’ll find out what electronic part you should sand. You’ll discover how a well-placed switch can help a robot avoid obstacles better than a pair of feelers. And you’ll avoid mistakes that can cause a capacitor to explode. Want a robot that can explore rooms, follow lines, or battle opponents in mini-sumo? This book presents step-by-step instructions and circuit and part descriptions so that you can build the robot featured in the book or apply the modules to your own robot designs. Finally, you’ll find the complete schematics for Roundabout, a room explorer that requires no programming and uses only off-the-shelf electronics. With Roundabout, you’ll use many of the same techniques used by professional robotics engineers, and you’ll experience many of the same challenges and joys they feel when a robot “comes to life.” What you’ll learn How to build a robot from scratch Digital electronics and moderate machining How to use and integrate modern modules useful to all robots: power supplies, motor couplers, motor drivers (including H-bridges), opponent and obstacle detectors, and floor sensors. How to embrace and extend the base robot design How to use Roundabout, which operates with off-the-shelf brains, so that no programming is required How the additions of a microcontroller, configuration switches, and even a music module all come together as a final two-tier automaton showing a versatile Robot who is seemingly the master of its domain. Who this book is forThis book is aimed at intermediate builders: adults, college students, and advanced high school students. It requires background experience in electronics, at least to the extent covered by Robot Building for Beginners. Because the hobby involves soldering, electricity, and light machining, the writing is targeted toward individuals with those capabilities. The book has been referenced in a number of high school and college courses. Table of Contents Assembling a Modular Robot Comparing Two Types of Homemade Motor Couplers and Common Errors to Avoid Making a Fixture and Drilling Solid Rods for a Coupler Finishing the Solid-Rod Motor Coupler Building a Motor Inside a Wheel Understanding the Standards and Setup for Electronic Experiments Creating a Linear Voltage-Regulated Power Supply Making Robot Power Supply Improvements Driving Miss Motor Driving Mister Motor Creating an Infrared Modulated Obstacle, Opponent, and Wall Detector Fine-Tuning the Reflector Detector Roundabout Robot! Test Driving Roundabout If I Only Had a Brain Building Roundabout’s Daughterboard Adding the Floor Sensor Module Cooking Up Some Robot Stew



458 pages

Robot Building for Beginners, Third Edition

Creator: David Cook | Computers - 2015-09-02

Body. Building. A robot's body provides a framework to which you can attach various components and circuit boards. The body protects the robot's innards against battering damage as well as environmental harm. The body can make a robot ...

Publisher: Apress

About this book
"I wrote this book because I love building robots. I want you to love building robots, too. It took me a while to learn about many of the tools and parts in amateur robotics. Perhaps by writing about my experiences, I can give you a head start."--David CookRobot Building for Beginners, Third Edition provides basic, practical knowledge on getting started in amateur robotics. There is a mix of content: from serious reference tables and descriptions to personal stories and humorous bits.The robot described and built in this book is battery powered and about the size of a lunch box. It is autonomous; that is, it isn't remote controlled.The book is broken up into small chapters, suitable for bedtime (or bathroom) reading.The characteristics and purposes of each major component (resistor, transistor, wire, and motor) are described, followed by a hands-on experiment to demonstrate. Not only does this help the reader to understand a particular piece, but it also prepares them with processes to learn new parts on their own. An appendix offers an introduction to 3D printing and parts of the robot can, as an alternative, be "printed" using a 3D printer.The master project of the book is a simple, entertaining, line-following robot.



480 pages

Intermediate Robot Building

Creator: David Cook | Computers - 2010-08-13

In fact, you can even put Roundabout's circuitry inside Sandwich from Robot Building for Beginners (see Figure 13-10). Figure 13-10. Two different ways to add Roundabout's circuit to a sandwich-container body. Roundwich? You can save ...

Publisher: Apress

About this book
For readers of Robot Building for Beginner (Apress, 2002 and 2009), welcome to the next level. Intermediate Robot Building, Second Edition offers you the kind of real-world knowledge that only renowned author David Cook can offer.In this book, you’ll learn the value of a robot heartbeat and the purpose of the wavy lines in photocells. You’ll find out what electronic part you should sand. You’ll discover how a well-placed switch can help a robot avoid obstacles better than a pair of feelers. And you’ll avoid mistakes that can cause a capacitor to explode.Want a robot that can explore rooms, follow lines, or battle opponents in mini-sumo? This book presents step-by-step instructions and circuit and part descriptions so that you can build the robot featured in the book or apply the modules to your own robot designs. Finally, you’ll find the complete schematics for Roundabout, a room explorer that requires no programming and uses only off-the-shelf electronics. With Roundabout, you’ll use many of the same techniques used by professional robotics engineers, and you’ll experience many of the same challenges and joys they feel when a robot “comes to life.”


Body Directory

How to Build a Robot - Part 1 - Making the body - YouTube
In this video I show you how to make your own Arduino powered robot! The video has commentary along the way to walk you through the steps and explain how ...

How to Build a Robot at Home (with Pictures) - wikiHow
This depends on the complexity of the robot. You could build a simple robot in as little as a day. A more complex robot could take several several months.

Materials for Robot Building: An Introduction
Similarly, in robot construction, building from scratch means using raw materials such as plastic, wood, and metal to concoct a robot body. More often than not, the body of the robot is cut from a larger piece of material, and shaped into the desired form. Round, oval, and square robot bodies are common.

How to Build Your First Robot With Raspberry Pi | DIY Hacking
This simple tutorial will show you to make a Raspberry pi robot which avoids obstacles and help you get started on building robots using python.

Build Your First Robot - With Plans and Step-by-Step ...
Here youll find a full guide for building your first robot from scratch ... Beginning the Build. You can construct the body of the BYFR using a 9" by 12" piece of 1/4 ...


ADVANCED PRODUCT FINDER

    Don't see what you're looking for?

Body